CCE logo
Focused certification exam prep
Start practice

CCE Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify

TL;DR
  • The Prepared Childbirth Educators, Inc. (PCE) CCE requires an active U.S. nurse license as its foundation.
  • You also need at least one year of teaching childbirth or completed training on teaching childbirth education.
  • The exam has 75 questions across three domains weighted 56%, 36% and 8%.
  • Certification is valid for 3 years, with renewal requirements set by PCE.

Which CCE This Article Covers

The letters "CCE" appear on several unrelated credentials. This guide is only about the Certified Childbirth Educator (CCE) examination administered by Prepared Childbirth Educators, Inc. (PCE). It is a nurse-focused credential that tests how well you can teach expectant families, design childbirth curricula and practice within the professional role of a nurse childbirth educator.

If you are new to the terminology, our explainers on what CCE certification is and what CCE stands for cover the basics. This article focuses on a narrower question: do you qualify, and how do you document that you do?

The Two Eligibility Pathways

PCE's eligibility rules have two parts, and you need both:

  1. An active U.S. nurse license.
  2. Teaching background: at least one year of experience teaching childbirth, or completion of training on teaching childbirth education.

The second requirement gives you flexibility. A working educator with a year of classroom experience and a nurse who has finished a formal teaching-focused training program can both meet the standard, as long as the nursing license is active.

RequirementWhat It MeansWho Typically Satisfies It
Active U.S. nurse licenseA current, valid nursing license in the United StatesPracticing or recently practicing nurses in good standing
At least 1 year teaching childbirthHands-on experience instructing childbirth classesNurses already teaching in hospitals, clinics or community settings
Completed training on teaching childbirth educationFormal training focused on how to teach childbirth educationNurses preparing to enter the educator role
Both parts, not either/or: The license requirement is not interchangeable with the teaching requirement. The "one year of teaching OR completed training" choice applies only to the teaching background. The active nurse license is a separate, non-negotiable foundation.

The Active Nurse License Requirement

This is the clearest line separating the PCE CCE from other childbirth education credentials. Many programs welcome doulas, lay educators and allied health professionals. PCE's CCE is built around nursing practice, which is why the exam content leans on nursing sources and the third domain explicitly covers professional practice guidelines set by AWHONN.

Practical points to confirm before you apply:

  • Active status. Your license should be current rather than lapsed or inactive. Check your state board of nursing record before you begin the application.
  • U.S. license. The eligibility language specifies a U.S. nurse license.
  • Documentation readiness. Have your license number, state and expiration date at hand so the application does not stall.

If your license status is uncertain, resolve that first. Everything else in this article depends on it.

Teaching Experience vs. Completed Training

Path A: One Year of Teaching Childbirth

If you already teach, this path is usually the more natural fit. Be ready to describe where you taught, what kinds of classes you led and roughly how long you taught. Educators who have run classes on labor, comfort measures and the postpartum period will recognize much of the exam content from daily practice.

Path B: Completion of Training on Teaching Childbirth Education

If you have not yet taught for a year, completed training can fill the gap. The key phrase is training on teaching childbirth education. That is different from general clinical knowledge. The training should address how to educate learners, not only what happens physiologically during pregnancy and birth. Keep your completion certificate or transcript, since you may need to show it. If you are comparing options, our overview of CCE training explains how preparation pathways fit together.

Key Takeaway

Pick the pathway you can document most cleanly. A nurse with a year of teaching should gather class records or employer verification; a nurse relying on training should locate the completion paperwork before applying, not after.

What the Exam Expects Once You Qualify

Meeting eligibility only gets you to the exam door. The PCE CCE Examination Content Outline (effective July 26, 2022) defines 75 total questions across three domains. Understanding the weighting helps you judge whether your background aligns with what will be tested. For a deeper breakdown, see our complete guide to all 3 CCE content areas.

Domain 1: Facilitate Learning (56%)

The heaviest domain is where a clinical nurse's strengths meet teaching skill. You must be able to explain and teach, not just recall.

  • Pregnancy and first stage of labor, including current ACOG guidelines for prenatal exercise, recommended exercises such as kegel, pelvic tilt and squatting, and when to terminate exercise
  • Pain management theories: fear-tension-pain cycle, cognitive rehearsal, gate control theory, neuromatrix theory and endorphins
  • Nonpharmacologic strategies: positioning, heat/cold, hydrotherapy, counter pressure, double hip squeeze, side lunge, abdominal lift, acupressure and TENS
  • Active relaxation methods: progressive relaxation, visualization, touch, selective relaxation and meditation
  • Respiratory techniques: slow paced, normal paced, patterned and variable paced breathing
  • Second stage of labor: the AWHONN practice guideline, open glottis, towel pull and positions
  • The labor coach: role, coaching styles and motivating the coach as a learner

Domain 2: Implement Curriculum Assessment, Design and Evaluation (36%)

This is where teaching experience or teaching-focused training pays off most directly.

  • Principles of adult learning, including Knowles' process of teaching adults
  • Phases of the group learning process and individual learning styles
  • Modifying strategies for teens and diverse populations; teaching a culturally competent class
  • Curriculum development steps: objectives, sequencing content, teaching plan and evaluation
  • Using evidence-based practice and evaluating program design

Domain 3: Role of the Childbirth Educator (8%)

The smallest domain, but a nurse-specific one.

  • Professional practice guidelines set by AWHONN
  • Roles of the nurse childbirth educator: change agent, content expert and leader
  • Evidence-based practices related to childbirth education
Why eligibility mirrors the blueprint: More than a third of the exam targets curriculum design and adult learning. That is exactly the territory a year of teaching, or a dedicated teaching-skills training, prepares you for. A nurse who qualifies on clinical knowledge alone may find Domain 2 the steeper climb. Our difficulty guide discusses where candidates tend to feel the most pressure.

Registration, Fees and What to Verify

The two official sources for exam details are PCE's Childbirth Educator Certification Examination page and the Content Outline and Study Resource List. Application steps, current fee amounts, scheduling windows and accepted documentation can change, so confirm them directly with PCE rather than relying on secondhand summaries.

Items worth checking at the source before you commit:

  • The current application process and the documentation PCE asks you to submit for the license and teaching requirement
  • Current fee amounts and payment terms (we break down the broader picture in our CCE certification cost guide)
  • Exam timing and any testing windows (see CCE exam dates and scheduling)
  • Details on time limits and the passing standard, which are not specified in the public content outline; our passing score article explains what is and is not publicly confirmed

Validity and Renewal

Credential validity is 3 years, with renewal requirements determined by PCE. Treat this as part of qualifying, not an afterthought. An active nurse license is the foundation for earning the credential, so plan to keep your license current throughout the certification cycle and check PCE's renewal expectations well before your three years end. Calendar your renewal window early and keep records of your continuing activities as you go.

Avoiding Confusion With Other Childbirth Credentials

The childbirth education field has several respected certifying organizations, and their paths differ. The PCE CCE should not be confused with ICEA, CAPPA or Lamaze credentials. Each has its own eligibility rules, application process and exam. Requirements you read about for one of them do not transfer to PCE's CCE.

Question to AskFor the PCE CCE
Certifying bodyPrepared Childbirth Educators, Inc. (PCE)
Nurse license required?Yes, an active U.S. nurse license
Teaching componentAt least 1 year teaching childbirth, or completed training on teaching childbirth education
Exam structure75 questions; three domains weighted 56%, 36% and 8%
Credential validity3 years; renewal set by PCE

If you are still orienting yourself, the pages on CCE meaning and what a CCE is clarify what the title signifies in practice.

A Qualification Roadmap Tied to the Exam Domains

Once you know you are eligible, sequence your preparation around the weighting. This is the one place a timeline helps, because the order matters: the heaviest domain deserves the most calendar time, and the teaching-heavy Domain 2 deserves deliberate attention if your background is clinical.

Step 1

Confirm eligibility and gather documents

  • Verify your nurse license is active
  • Choose Path A (teaching year) or Path B (completed training) and assemble proof
  • Review PCE's official exam page for current requirements
Step 2

Anchor on Domain 1 content

  • Pain theories: fear-tension-pain cycle, gate control, neuromatrix
  • Comfort measures and breathing patterns, with the rationale for each
  • Second stage: open glottis, towel pull, positions and the AWHONN guideline
Step 3

Build Domain 2 fluency

  • Knowles and adult learner characteristics
  • Curriculum steps from objectives through evaluation
  • Adapting for teens, diverse learners and cultural competence
Step 4

Close with Domain 3 and practice

  • AWHONN practice guidelines and the educator's change agent, content expert and leader roles
  • Timed practice questions on our practice test site

For source material, the PCE outline suggests references including AWHONN's Nursing Care and Management of the Second Stage of Labor (2019), The Adult Learner (2020), Energize Your Training (2010), the Core Curriculum for Maternal-Newborn Nursing (2015), AWHONN Perinatal Nursing (2020), The Labor Progress Handbook (2017) and Pregnancy, Childbirth and the Newborn (2018). Our CCE study guide maps those resources to each domain, and the one-page cheat sheet is useful for a final review.

Key Takeaway

Eligibility and exam readiness are linked. Your license gets you in; your teaching background shapes how comfortable Domain 2 will feel. Use the 56/36/8 weighting to decide where your extra study hours go, and run realistic questions through the practice tests early rather than at the end.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need to be a nurse to sit for the PCE CCE exam?

Yes. Eligibility includes an active U.S. nurse license. Non-nurse educators should look at other childbirth education certifying bodies, since the PCE CCE is designed around nursing practice.

What if I have never taught a childbirth class?

You can still qualify by completing training on teaching childbirth education. The requirement is either at least one year teaching childbirth or completed training, so a first-time educator can meet it through the training route.

How long does the credential last?

The credential is valid for 3 years. Renewal requirements are determined by PCE, so check PCE's current renewal guidance early in your cycle and keep your nurse license active.

Is this the same as the ICEA, CAPPA or Lamaze credential?

No. The PCE CCE is a separate credential with its own eligibility rules and exam. Requirements, fees and exam formats for ICEA, CAPPA or Lamaze do not apply to it.

Where can I find exact fees, time limits and the passing score?

Go to PCE's official examination page. The public content outline confirms the 75-question structure and the 56%, 36% and 8% domain weights, but does not specify a timer or passing score. See our guides on cost and pass rate data for what is publicly known, and consider whether the credential fits your goals with our ROI analysis.

Ready to pass your CCE exam?

Put this into practice with free CCE questions across every exam domain.